Total Slides 0 : Active Index 1 : Last Slide Divs 0

No events to show.

UNB Reds Claim Their 4th ACAA Championship Banner

UNB Reds Claim Their 4th ACAA Championship Banner

Fredericton, NB – The UNB Reds claimed their 4thACAA championship banner Saturday with a tightly contested 22-17 win over the STU Tommies,

These two great foes did not disappoint the many fans who braved the heavy downpour at college field. Both teams played and thrilling, hard fought match in the ACAA final with the Reds coming out on top.

The Tommies came out of the gate flying, scoring an early try to get the game going. But the Reds came right back with two tries of their own by Taran Price and Taylor Morgan to take a 12-7 lead into halftime. UNB came out in the second half much stronger scoring two tries to push their lead to 22-7. However, the resilient Tommies did not give up. They fought back and were able to score two tries to make it a 5 point game with minutes remaining. Unfortunately for STU, time was not on their side as the referee signaled the games end before they were able to make a final attempt. 

Today’s victory marks the 4thconsecutive ACAA title for the UNB Reds dating back to 2015. Olivia Cormier (UNB) and Kristen Bulman (STU) were selected as the Supplement King Players of the Game.

The ACAA women’s rugby banquet was held directly following the championship game. At the banquet the ACAA awarded the All Conference Awards along with the major league awards of Coach of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year.   The All Conference Awards went to:


2018-19 ACAA Women’s Rugby All-Conference and Awards      Nov. 3rd, 2018





  1. UNB –   Amy Andrews                   Position:   Front Row Forward
  2. UNB –   Emily Cusack                    Position:   Second Row Forward
  3. UNB –   Olivia Cormier                  Position:  Fullback
  4. UNB –   Taran Price                        Position:   Back Field Centre
  5. UNB –   Julija Rans                         Position:   Back Field Stand Off
  6. UNB -    Margaret Grimmer            Position:    Back Field Centre
  7. STU -     Meghan Pollard                 Position:   Scrumhalf
  8. STU –    Emily Donelle                  Position:   Fly Half/Inside Centre
  9. STU –    Olivia Ricketts                  Position:    8-man
  10. STU –   Abbie Leblanc          Position:    Fullback
  11. Mt. A – Tristen Haley                        Position:    Scrum Half
  12. Mt. A -  Victoria Sim                         Position:    8 man
  13. Mt. A -   Sarah Chisholm                 Position:    Flank
  14. UKC -    Isla Littlewood                   Position:   Flank
  15. UKC -      Cassandra Hayward           Position:   Wing


Player of the Year:

Margaret Grimmer - UNB               

Rookie of the Year 

Katrina LeBlanc - STU


Coach of the Year: 

Kevin Wilson - UNB